Senators Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Prevent Any President from Leaving NATO

by | Jul 16, 2023

Senators Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Prevent Any President from Leaving NATO

by | Jul 16, 2023

tim kaine marco rubio venezuela 800x420 696x365

Senators Tim Kaine and Marco Rubio

A group of Senators have reintroduced legislation to prevent an American president from withdrawing from the North Atlantic alliance. A version of the bill failed to pass the legislature during the Trump administration. 

Senators Tim Kaine (D-VA) and Marco Rubio (R-FL), both members of the Foreign Relations Committee, are the bill’s authors. “NATO serves as an essential military alliance that protects shared national interests and enhances America’s international presence,” said Rubio. “Any decision to leave the alliance should be rigorously debated and considered by the US Congress with the input of the American people.” 

The North Atlantic Alliance is engaged in a proxy war against Russia in Ukraine. Representative Matt Gaetz (R-FL) has argued that it is not in America’s interest to be supporting Kiev’s war machine. In a recent speech on the House floor, Gaetz said, “The Biden administration is sleepwalking our great country into a world war. The American people did not sign up for this.”

Kaine argued the bill was needed because the war in Ukraine has exposed Russia’s weakness. “Putin’s brutal war in Ukraine and Finland’s accession and Sweden’s pending accession into NATO all underscore the same thing: NATO is stronger than ever,” said Kaine. “I’m proud to introduce this bipartisan bill to reaffirm the United States’ commitment to NATO and ensure any US President can’t unilaterally decide to leave the alliance without congressional approval.”

However, President Biden recently admitted that the White House agreed to send cluster bombs to Ukraine because ammo stockpiles throughout the North Atlantic alliance have been depleted. The decision to send cluster bombs to Kiev is a stark reversal for the White House that denounced the usage of that weapon as a war crime during the early days of the war. 

Senators  Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Jeff Merkley (D-OR) and Dick Durbin (D-IL) are additionally co-sponsoring the bill. 

Sen. Carden believes a strong NATO is deterring Moscow. “The NATO Alliance continues to be a vital bulwark against Putin’s illegal and unprovoked war in Ukraine,” said Cardin. “America bolstered this alliance at this critical moment in time and Congress must show the world that our national commitment to NATO will remain rock-solid. We stand with the democratic countries of Europe and guarantee their protection.”

Russian President Vladimir Putin explained NATO’s plans for expansion to Ukraine forced the invasion. According to the Kremlin, the Russian army will continue to press its advance until Moscow feels it has established an appropriate security situation. 

About Kyle Anzalone

Kyle Anzalone is news editor of the Libertarian Institute, opinion editor of and co-host of Conflicts of Interest with Will Porter and Connor Freeman.

Our Books

latest book lineup.

Related Articles